RSS

Voice from the sky for “Bahujan Hitaya;Bahujana Sukhaya”

13 Aug

Yeah, if you are a true Indian you must have atleast once switched on to Vivid bharati and you must have guessed what I mean by “Voice from the sky”.For those who don’t have  any idea about what I am writing  then for their information  it’s about our own AKASHVANI that I would like to blog about this time.

I like to tune to the national broadcasting radio of  Indian government that is All India Radio or Prasar bharathi not merely because I don’t have any other option but I find it entertaining(most of you may disagree with me).But I do agree that I switch to AIR only when other means are all gone. I still remember the day when I visited one of the AIR stations during my school days with my school friends and music teacher. As a part of school’s music team we were there to record some group song and instrumental music recordings for which we received some money.Oh!! How happy I was with the hundred rupees I got .I felt like I have served the country which was very childish of me. I was really astonished after looking at the interiors of the radio station as I had never visited one before. The recording station felt like a mini theatre for me. I recall watching one of my friends playing tabla in the recording room.

Image

The popular channel on AIR radio, Vivid Bharati service was started in the year 1947 to compete with Radio Ceylon. It marked the beginning of commercial service in Indian broadcasting. Earlier movie songs were a ban on AIR only classical music was allowed. For experimentation commercials were also introduced in 1967.Some of the old popular programmes of Vivid Bharati include “Bhule bhisre geet”, “ Hawa Mahal”, “JaiMala”, “Chhaya Geet” etc.Now Vivid Bharati has also stepped into other countries through its DTH service for listeners throughout the world.

With technological development we have had a boost in electronic media but radio remains the oldest among them. Today there are many private FM stations which of course provide unlimited entertainment.But have you ever heard these stations playing songs for the soldiers who guard our land? I guess no. All the private stations mostly aim at the urban public. It is AIR (All India Radio) that reaches urban and rural areas equally playing songs to all kinds of people.Particularly in India there are still typical houses where the wife gets up early and switches on the radio, the sound of which makes the household alive. Recently that is on July 23rd, 2012 our country’s humble radio broadcaster turned 85.From the war broadcasts to emergency there has been always this Voice from the sky saying “This is All India radio giving you the news.”

So guys do tune to AIR this Independence day. 🙂 You can listen AIR online here :http://vividhbharti.org/listen-on-line/

-Sources

http://www.vividhbharati.org/fpchistoryradiovbs.htm,http://www.friendsofprasarbharati.org/index.htm

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 13, 2012 in India, Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Voice from the sky for “Bahujan Hitaya;Bahujana Sukhaya”

  1. Abhilash.M

    August 13, 2012 at 1:02 am

    I tuned into AIR back in those days when there were no other radio stations to listen to latest songs. Now when i think of it, its been too long since i listened to AIR. Very informative blog. Came to know a lot of things abt AIR. Keep blogging:-) N yeah i am gonna listen to AIR on independence day!

     
    • Adivy

      August 13, 2012 at 2:15 am

      I also tuned onto AIR recently after a long time.That’s why thought to blog about it.Thanks for reading 🙂

       
  2. Easwar Arumugam

    May 27, 2013 at 1:24 am

    AIR too has sterling program in their kitty. But then, since we tune ourselves to other FMs, we miss the AIR’s improvised menu.Thanks for the info

     
    • Vidya

      May 31, 2013 at 5:06 pm

      Yes it is so true.I just tried to remember the grandparent of all the FM channel :-).Thanks for dropping by.

       

Leave a Reply

 
